Stravinsky, plus

The Brooklyn Paper

The final concert in the 2007-2008 Music at Ascension season will be held June 7 at 4 p.m. presented by The Church of the Ascension in Greenpoint, Brooklyn. Mani, the series’ resident ensemble, will perform works by Stravinsky, Shostakovich, and Britt.

Tickets are $15 at the door, $10 for seniors and students, with children under 12 admitted free.

The concert features the trio version of Stravinsky’s “L’Histoire du Soldat,” the New York premiere of Cameron Britt’s “Foreword” for clarinet and strings, and Shostakovich’s “Piano Quintet.” The performance features acclaimed violist Amadi Hummings, and clarinet virtuoso and new music specialist Meighan Stoops.

For more, visit or

Reader Feedback

Enter your comment below

By submitting this comment, you agree to the following terms:

You agree that you, and not or its affiliates, are fully responsible for the content that you post. You agree not to post any abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening or sexually-oriented material or any material that may violate applicable law; doing so may lead to the removal of your post and to your being permanently banned from posting to the site. You grant to the royalty-free, irrevocable, perpetual and fully sublicensable license to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from, distribute, perform and display such content in whole or in part world-wide and to incorporate it in other works in any form, media or technology now known or later developed.

CNG: Community Newspaper Group